Ten Lessons I Learnt in 2015 (Oyedokun Bolanle)

image

Image Source: { Google Image }


Image Source: { Google Image }

We are grateful to God Almighty for an utmost privilege of witnessing a new year, and I am certain it is our year of great gain in all spheres in Jesus name. Wow! 2015 in view already..how time flies! if each of us were asked to recount our 2015 experiences, I am sure there won’t be enough space and time for it. For me, last year; much more than any other year was a mixture of wonderful and ‘not too’ wonderful experiences, but in all they were situations to thank God for and build upon. So, out of the numerous lessons I learnt in the previous year, I bring to you my top ten 2015 lessons. Gain insight as you read.

REMEMBER GOD’S LOVE
Johnson Oatman Jr. (1856-1922) wrote “why don’t you count your blessings and see how good the lord has been to you” . Most times, we experience spiritual amnesia -a state of forgetting every good gesture received from God in time past, probably because of life challenges or we just have the tendency to forget. The psalmist, though in several difficult situations, still remembers God’s love at every point in time and this of course gave him hope for future deliverances. So I take a cue from this, and thought about the numerous love and mercy that God expended on me and mine, and it propelled me to thank Him. Lord you deserve all the glory.
Theme song: Gabriel Eziashi’s my praise

SHARING TROUBLE
The year actually started on a moody note, with the demise of a relative and all other activities had to be suspended to console the bereaved. In life, there is always someone around you facing serious challenge and needs assistance to survive the trouble; God is actually sending you out to make such smile and help with such person’s need. It could be finance, word of encouragement, or physical and material aid. It is rewarding. Ralph Waldo Emerson opined that “it is one of the most beautiful compensations of this life,  that no man can sincerely try to help another without helping himself”.
Theme song: Trading my sorrow- by Women of Faith
AVOID FOOLISHNESS
Any discourse and act that wouldn’t add value to you isn’t worth it…so why waste your time on it, quit! There is a need to flee from every evil desire of the youth like, unnecessary arguments, quarrels, situations that can lead to rancor etc.  Rather, engage yourself with things and people that are mindful enough to pursue the right course in life.

ANGER DESTROYS
And I sure don’t want to sound like a fanatic, or go all spiritual about this, but the truth be told- anger is a big tool in the hand of the devil to get your best away from you. Anger! It just doesn’t surface anyhow, it occurs whenever something good and beautiful is on the way, Beware!!! Don’t let it deprive you of your joy.

GOD ANSWERS PRAYERS WHEN YOU KNOW NOT
I have been praying for some things all my life, and in 2015 it came with ease without me realizing it. The answered prayers became an eureka experience for me in multiple folds
Tasha Cobbs’ Break Every Chain will be my Theme song

ATTRACTIVE OFFERS DON’T NECESSARILY TRANSLATE TO SUITABLE OFFER FOR YOU
I had some beautiful offers which I just have to reject politely, because they aren’t meant for me. By implication not all wonderful ideas or juicy offer are meant for you, look deep and understand the one with which you will fit in well, key into and come out ‘best’.

MOVING ON FROM A FALLEN STATE ISNT EASY
I realized in the year also, that moving up and on from a fallen state is not always as easy as we profess it.  The very aspect of my life that brought me so much joy and cheer had actually caused me much pain that till this moment I am finding it hard to rise again. Don’t get me wrong, I can’t be static, I will definitely progress, but the will to do so isn’t there now; trusting God to move me up and heal my wounds.
Theme song: If Walls could talk by Celion Dion

SOME STEPS IN LIFE DEMANDS CRAZY DECISION
Sometimes, one needs to follow one’s mind and overlook “the market’s noise”, no one knows what is best for you like you do. Therefore, cogent decision concerning your personal life requires a conscious, yet diehard decision that might look stupid to people around you; but in the end will bring you relief and happiness.
Theme song: for this I will do Yolanda Adams “I believe I can”

ACT FAST ON WHATEVER GOD REVEALS
GOD isn’t a liar that He should lie, whatever He says He will surely bring to fulfillment. However, we need to heed and do His bidding, I had a revelation earlier in the year which I handled with levity and of course the consequence was suffered for a long time.
Theme song: Max Lucado’s But for your Grace

ALL SPHERES OF LIFE ARE INTERWINED
God is indeed a skilled and perfect craftsman. He wired all aspect of our lives together in such a way that one can’t do without the other, and a problem in one part can transfer to other parts if not properly managed. I allowed my pains overwhelm me so much that it cost me my physical and emotional balance- you know those issues that makes one go pale and reflects at work.. Yea.! I handled my intertwined life spheres poorly, which shouldn’t be..let all aspects work together for better output.

From all of us at DEBBIESARENA, and To our most esteemed readers and friends, welcome aboard; more than ever, let’s do it together again this year. Don’t just read, let’s have your views so that we can do much more better.

Oyedokun Bolanle Deborah.

Leave a comment